The battlefield…

Ephesians 6:12 For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places

It was a typical Saturday afternoon.  The kids had been getting tired of being inside and wanted to just run around somewhere.  So my husband took them to the park to run around while I stayed at home and took a nap (yeah, I married a good man!!)  After I got up, no one was home so I came down to the computer to check Facebook, email…  As I sat there, this thought came into my head.  “What would my family do if I just left? I could pack a bag, call a cab, and just leave… where would I go?  I’ could leave a note saying that I was going away for a while.. ”   Now, don’t get me wrong, I love my family.  I have been blessed beyond measure.  I have good kids, a great husband, we’re all healthy.. but my mind.. it betrays me.  It becomes unsatisfied, lost and feeling like there should be more.. WHY???

I’ve been reading a book called, “The Influence” by Matthew John Slick.  It’s a supernatural thriller about spiritual warfare.  If you don’t think the supernatural realm has anything to do with you, think again!  In the Bible God TELLS us that there is a battle unseen to our eyes, that happens continually.  A battle for our minds, souls, thoughts, hearts… and it is happening all around us.

I am not one to see the devil in everything, but here is what I know.  My thoughts are my biggest weakness.   That thought I had, “Just walk away”.. I could think, ” eh, I was just having an off day.”…. no, I don’t think so.  There’s more to it.   I am a thinker, a feeler… Those thoughts  in my head, are so dangerous.   And they come in all forms… “I can’t do this parenting thing.”… “I’m a failure.”   “No one appreciates me”  “Is this really ALL there is to life”…  and I’ve had ALL these thoughts at one time or another.

I’ve tried to make it a practice to PRAY against these thoughts!  “Lord, I know these thoughts are NOT from you.  Replace them with YOUR truth!”.  There is POWER in acknowledging we are in a spiritual battle.  A battle for our very sanity.  If we can become consumed with our thoughts of inadequacy or of being unsatisfied, then we will be completely ineffective as a person and miserable to boot!   I don’t know about you, but I hate being miserable.  The enemy KNOWS what will distract me.  What will get me down, what will make me question myself and God.  As a friend of mine said, “He doesn’t play fair.”

The verses before the verse above says, “A final word: Be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil”.  We are not fighting alone!  God has provided us with protection… HIS truth that shatters the lies that my mind so willingly believes sometimes.  And let me tell you, it isn’t easy by any means!  It’s hard, it’s a battle!  And some days, I don’t feel like fighting. I buy into the lies that look good, but leave me still feeling empty and unsatisfied … But when I call upon the name of the Lord, pick up the sword of truth (The Bible)  and drive those thoughts out with God’s words of love, hope, encouragement, significance… the demons MUST flee.  And make NO mistake, it’s NO power of our own, but HIS power through us!.

So I encourage you, call upon the Lord with me! Pick up the sword of truth and drive back those thoughts that try to consume, devour, discourage us.   Fight!  Fight hard, fight well, and with consistency.  Lift each other up in prayer as we fight together through this life.

1 John 4:4“You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.”

2 thoughts on “The battlefield…

  1. Thank you. This is something I definitely needed to read and be reminded of today. Feel like I’ve been in a losing battle for several days now, and like I’ve lost any “fight” within me. Thank you for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

